Switters’ Blog

Die Hard 4

Posted by switters on June 28, 2007

You may not be aware that they made another Die Hard sequel (in the same way you may not be aware that the Soprano’s ended or that Paris Hilton went to jail, was released, was sent back, and then went home again). I’m not sure if the following is pirated or part of the marketing strategy, but the first 8 minutes of the film are available on You Tube – and now here as well. .

On the subject of the Die Hard franchise, an excellent article in Slate, posits that “Yippee Ki Yay Mother Fucker” is the greatest one-liner in movie history. Before you scoff, read the article. My first reaction was that the author was taking this way too seriously (” …McClane’s answer—”Yippee-ki-yay, motherfucker”—marks the moment that McClane, an everyman, assumes the mantle of America’s archetypal heroes: Roy Rogers, John Wayne, Gunsmoke‘s Marshall Dillon, and others who have been so vital to American boyhood. “). But as I read on, it really started to make sense. I’m not sure if it beats “Do you feel lucky, punk?,” “PUT THAT COFFEE DOWN! Coffee is for closers,” or my personal favorite: “These go to eleven,” but it certainly made me see the line in a whole new way. Slate also offers a more conventional review of the movie as well.

Finally, Justin Long does a nice job opposite Bruce Willis, but I think John Hodgman would have been a better choice.

One Response to “Die Hard 4”

  1. dakeeper said

    Not only is Bruce Willis a likeness, but I do like his movies. That was a good line in the context of that movie. One of the great ones? Debatable. I have many lines that I recall but for me, some of the best lines I’ve heard were from ‘Team America: World Police’….lol…I friggin’ love that movie….

    As far as Die Hard goes, I think the line utered by the cop when the helicopter crashes “They’re gonna need more FBI guys” was pretty darn funny.

Leave a Reply

 
