Switters’ Blog

It’s the Word

Posted by switters on July 3, 2007

Nickelodeon is really hyping their showing of a “classic” 70’s movie musical about the ’50s in order to promote the new Broadway version. A certain fast food chain signed on as a sponsor. Leaving aside the larger issues of fast food addiction, marketing to kids etc, this is just everyday stuff.

But I have to wonder whether it was corporate cluelessness or informed irony (somebody’s idea of a joke) that led to this line, which closes each of the commercials:

Grease: Brought to you by Wendy’s.

2 Responses to “It’s the Word”

  1. dakeeper said

    Bad promo, but I love the double with no cheese and no mayo…..at least they don’t cater to the ‘I’m lovin’ it’ crowd.

  2. hibbityjibbity said

    I wish I could send an In and Out burger to Sayville, fresh made burgers, on fresh baked buns, with fresh lettuce and fixins, made your way everytime you order. When I mean fresh I mean, like I took ground beef out of my fridge and threw a burger on the BBQ fresh, takes a little longer like 5 minutes or so to get your order so not fast food, but oh yummy.

Leave a comment